Firearms Transfers Online in Sterling Heights
The Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution guarantees the right of private citizens to bear arms; however, over the years Federal and State lawmakers have put some restrictions on the sale and use of weapons.
Federal law stipulates who may own or possess firearms as well as how those firearms are transferred and recorded. States also impose regulations regarding licensing, carry requirements, and private sales. Ownership is transferred any time a firearm is bought or sold whether through a dealer or private sale.
Firearm transfers require certain types of paperwork depending on where you are located.
Buying from a Dealer
Dealers licensed by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms, so-called FFL Dealers, are required to perform background checks on prospective buyers. A specific form must also be completed before buyers can take ownership of the gun. The form documents the make, model, and a serial number of the firearm as well as the buyer’s personal information. It contains an affidavit stating that the buyer is not federally prohibited from owning a firearm. Lying on the form is a Federal offense that carries very stiff penalties. Dealers also act as intermediaries for online firearm purchases since it’s illegal to ship them directly to consumers. For a small fee, an FFL dealer will allow the buyer to have the item shipped to their facility where the purchase can be legally finalized.
Private sales in most states don’t require the seller to conduct a background check. Even so, it’s illegal to knowingly sell or give away a firearm to someone you know isn’t supposed to have one. Michigan requires potential private buyers to have a “handgun purchasing license” or concealed-carry permit prior to purchasing anything except long guns. Both require a background check as a condition of approval. Purchase licenses are issued through the local police department and is good for 30 days. The buyer and seller must both sign the license, and a copy of it must be filed with the police department within 10 days. Additionally, the seller must complete a handgun sales record. Only residents aged 18 years or older can purchase handguns in the state of Michigan. Non-residents may purchase long guns over 26 inches long. Ultimately, gun owners are personally responsible for complying with all Federal and State firearms laws when they sell their equipment. IFA Tactical makes it easy to transfer weapons. We take care of all the details for you. Contact the personnel at IFA Tactical to learn everything related to your firearms and ammunition needs.
Call us today to place an order, for technical support, or product information.